Chris’s Birthday

October 26, 2010

Chris’s birthday is in a week. I got an amazon.com reminding me of his birthday and suggesting gifts I could buy him.  I wish that was what I was doing with my week, finding a great 31st birthday gift for Chris.  He never liked to make a big deal out of birthdays.  While lots of other people do week-long celebrations for their 30th, Chris just wanted me to take him to dinner and a movie.  I don’t remember what movie we saw, but I remember how happy he was that day, how much he loved his gift (a watch with a compass, he loved watches), and how we both felt so lucky to have each other.  I wonder if his heart was beginning to deteriorate yet or it was still healthy. 

I don’t know what I will do on his birthday this year.  I thinking waking up and not being able to tell him happy birthday will be so painful.  It seems so wrong.

2 Responses to “Chris’s Birthday”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Hello. I found your blog via comment you left on another. So you got through his birthday-day okay? I was widowed unexpectedly and suddenly at age 25, over 20 years ago, and I just wanted to say hi and hang in there.

  2. widowedowl Says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Thank you for your comment. I did survive his birthday and Thanksgiving. Now on to Christmas right?

    I am sorry to hear of your loss and appreciate the encouragement.


Leave a Reply

